Excellency,

We wish to bring to your attention an urgent problem that has arisen in the context of management reform. You are well aware of the background to our negotiations on the Secretary General's report "Investing in the United Nations: for a stronger Organization worldwide" and the difficult path they have pursued. You know the depth of feeling on the issues and the many efforts that have been made to find agreement.

There is now a resolution tabled by the Group of 77 and China in the Fifth Committee which the Group of 77 and China believes could be the basis for consensus. We have to underline that this draft resolution is not acceptable to us. By convention, those who propose resolutions in the Fifth Committee do so when they believe conditions for adoption without dispute have been established. That is not the case now.

We stand ready to work for true consensus on a mutually agreeable text. We are prepared to conclude our discussions in the Fifth Committee by reporting back to you that we were unable to reach a consensus. Forcing a decision on a non-consensual resolution would trigger a vote. This would leave us no alternative but to vote against the Group of 77 and China draft resolution. We are concerned that a vote under these circumstances could entail considerable disadvantages for the United Nations, for this proposal and for the budget process.

Therefore, we hope that you could continue to assist us in taking this forward in a way which permits us to find consensus on this important issue.

H. E. Jan Eliasson President of the 60th session of the United Nations General Assembly

<u>New York</u>

823 UNITED NATIONS PLAZA, NEW YORK, N.Y. 10017

Permanent Mission of Albania to the United Nations

Permanent Mission of Albania to the United Nations H.E. Ambassador Agim NESHO

Permanent Mission of Andorra to the United Nations H.E. Ambassador Julian VILA COMA

Permanent Mission of Australia to the United Nations H.E. Ambassador

Permanent Mission of Austria to the United Nations H.E. Ambassador Gerhard Pfanzelter

Permanent Mission of Belgium to the United Nations H.E. Ambassador Johan VERBEKE

Permanent Mission of Bosnia and Herzegovina to the United Nations H.E. Ambassador Miloŝ Prica

Permanent Mission of the Republic of Bulgaria to the United Nations H.E. Ambassador Stefan TAFROV

Permanent Mission of Canada to the United Nations H.E. Ambassador Allan ROCK

Permanent Mission of Croatia to the United Nations H.E. Ambassador Mirjana MLADINEO

Permanent Mission of the Republic Cyprus to the United Nations H.E. Ambassador Andreas MAVROYIANNIS

Permanent Mission of the Czech Republic to the United Nations_ H.E. Ambassador Hynek KMONICEK

Permanent Mission of Denmark to the United Nations H.E. Ambassador Ellen Margrethe LOJ

Permanent Mission of the Republic of Estonia to the United Nations H.E. Ambassador Tiina INTELMANN

Permanent Mission of Finland to the United Nations H.E. Ambassador Kirsti LINTONEN

Permanent Mission of France to the United Nations H.E. Ambassador Jean-Marc DE LA SABLIÈRE

Permanent Mission of Germany to the United Nations H.E. Ambassador Gunter PLEUGER

Permanent Mission of Greece to the United Nations H.E. Ambassador Adamantios VASSILAKIS

Permanent Mission of the Republic of Hungary to the United Nations H.E. Ambassador Gabor BRODI

1.1

Permanent Mission of Iceland to the United Nations H.E. Ambassador Hjálmar W. HANNESSON

Permanent Mission of Ireland to the United Nations H.E. Ambassador David COONEY

Permanent Mission of Israel to the United Nations H.E. Ambassador Dan GILLERMAN

Permanent Mission of Italy to the United Nations H.E. Ambassador Marcello SPATAFORA

Permanent Mission of Japan to the United Nations H.E. Ambassador Kenzo OSHIMA

Permanent Mission of the Republic of Latvia to the United Nations H.E. Ambassador Solveiga SILKALNA

Permanent Mission of the Republic of Liechtenstein to the United Nations H.E. Ambassador Christian WENAWESER

Permanent Mission of the Republic of Lithuania to the United Nations H.E. Ambassador Dalius CEKUOLIS

Permanent Mission of Luxembourg to the United Nations H.E. Ambassador Jean-Marc HOSCHEIT

Permanent Mission of th Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia to the United Nations H.E. Ambassador Igor DZUNDEV

Permanent Mission of Malta to the United Nations H.E. Ambassador Victor CAMILLERI

Permanent Mission of the Principality of Monaco to the United Nations H.E. Ambassador Gilles NOGHÈS

Permanent Mission of the Kingdom of the Netherlands to the United Nations H.E. Ambassador Frank MAJOOR

Permanent Mission of New Zealand to the United Nations H.E. Ambassador Rosemary BANKS

Permanent Mission of the Republic of Poland to the United Nations H.E. Ambassador Andrzej TOWPIK

Permanent Mission of Portugal to the United Nations H.E. Ambassador Joao SALGUEIRO

Permanent Mission of the Republic of Korea to the United Nations H.E. Ambassador CHOI Young-jin

Permanent Mission of Romania to the United Nations H.E. Ambassador Mihnea Ioan MOTOC

/ • \

Permanent Mission of San Marino to the United Nations H.E. Ambassador Daniele D. BODINI

Permanent Mission of the Slovak Republic to the United Nations H.E. Ambassador Peter BURIAN

Permanent Mission of the Republic of Slovenia to the United Nations H.E. Ambassador Roman KIRN

Permanent Mission of Spain to the United Nations H.E. Ambassador Juan Antonio YANEZ-BARNUEVO

Permanent Mission of Sweden to the United Nations H.E. Ambassador Anders LIDEN

Permanent Mission of Switzerland to the United Nations H.E. Ambassador Peter MAURER

Permanent Mission of Turkey to the United Nations H.E. Ambassador Baki ILKIN

Permanent Mission of the United Kingdom to the United Nations H.E. Ambassador Sir Emyr JONES-PARRY

United States Mission to the United Nations H.E. Ambassador John R. BOLTON

 $\langle \cdot \cdot \rangle$